How I Rediscovered My Motivation To Create

I just wanted to say hi on this first day of 2016!

I won’t bore you with the details, but the last few months have been really intense and I haven’t been as creative as I would’ve liked.

For some time, I’ve been struggling with getting my mojo back. Even though I had a lot of ideas, I just didn’t have the will to make anything past a couple of pencil skirts. I believed I needed to be motivated to be creative, but for months that motivation was nowhere to be found. The more I thought about what I wanted to make, the more stuck I felt. I watched online sewing classes, read a ton of sewing books, but just couldn’t seem to sit down and actually make anything. Then one day I just got up and unpacked my tools and got to work. I made a big mess, but it was a happy mess. The next day I went back and made something else. Once I started working, it was like the floodgates opened and I just didn’t have enough hours to do everything. Even as I’m typing this, I have two projects that I can’t wait to get back to. I continue to work every day, no matter how briefly, and that’s how I discovered the truth behind motivation (at least for me): Making stuff WITHOUT thinking too much about it provides the motivation to keep creating more stuff.

Now I know that to some of you that’s pretty obvious, but to me it was a revelation. So now when I feel myself slipping into inertia, I just grab something (one of my unfinished Alabama Chanin projects, a pattern that needs modifications, or even a sketchbook) and I get to work.

In my next post, I’ll show you some of the projects I finished in the last couple of months. I’ll also share some of my works-in-progress in all their deliciously messy glory. Unfortunately, it’s been overcast every.single.day for what feels like a month, so I’m trying to take some pictures that don’t look like I’m trapped in a dungeon. We’ll see how that works out.

Anyhow, I’m just happy that I’m finally creating again. It feels good. Really, really good.

xoxo,

Blog signature

Leave a Reply

