Sewing Straw

This is my latest “hat.” Again, it’s really tiny, but I was really just practicing the stitching.

IMG_0821

Under normal circumstances, I would never purposely do anything as heinous as stitching an orange hat with white thread, but it helps me to see the neatness or messiness of the stitching.

IMG_0823

As you can see from those tiny loops, I had some problems with the thread at the tip. For me, that’s the most difficult part of making a straw hat because you’re trying to sew a tiny (in this case 1/4″) piece of straw into a spiral shape without sewing over your finger.  I’ll be practicing this a LOT.

IMG_0827

But overall, I’m pretty happy with my progress. When I get my machine back from my friend’s garage, I’ll be able to put in a lot more practice hours.

IMG_0832

And did you notice that luxurious white leather backdrop? Well I it bought to make an envelope clutch. By the time you read this, it will be cut and perhaps finished. I’m still deciding whether to sew or glue it together. I like the idea of a sewn clutch, but I don’t have the thread I need (that would be #69 for those of you interested in sewing leather.) I’m pretty sure I have the glue I need (that would be Petronio’s). The downside is I think a glued purse looks less polished. I also need to figure out how to do the closure. I’m leaning toward something like the one on the right in this picture I found on Pinterest.

Leather Wrap

I like it because it’s clean and simple – and I don’t have any hardware on hand except magnetic snaps. I’ll be sure to take pictures for a future post.

xoxo,

Blog signature

 

Leave a Reply

