Lessons in Beading

My bugle beads arrived quickly from Jewels a la Carte on Etsy. I ordered a few different colors to see how they look in person.

IMG_9499

I wanted a blue-green to go with the print and while I didn’t get the exact color, the turquoise is close so I’m going to use those.

But first I had to learn how to bead.

My first problem was finding a needle. I have tons of needles, but the only one I could find that could go through the beads was a tiny quilting needle. Unfortunately it took 20 minutes to thread and I knew that I would be homicidal if I had to go through that hundreds of times. So I resolved to find my dream needle. As I was looking for my thimble, I came across these lovelies:

IMG_9501

They’re perfect! Unlike the quilting needle, the eye is big enough to thread easily. They’re almost twice as long and feel great in my hand so they’re now my official beading needles.

I started making a little sample and immediately noticed that I need a beading glove. I can’t find a picture, but it’s basically a fingerless glove with double sided tape that holds beads so you can grab beads easily while you’re working. Who knew such a thing existed, right? Well after trying to pick up the beads from the table, it dawned on me that I should make it a priority. I have some spandex around here somewhere so that’s going on my list of projects.

In the meantime, I stuck a tape loop to my hand and got some beading done. So here’s my first row of beading. It’s not perfect, but I’m really proud of it. It was also a reality check: beading takes a long, LONG time (at least in the beginning) so plan accordingly.

 

IMG_9489

A little bit closer

IMG_9490

So now I just have to pull out the rest of the seams and bead them. Who knows, I might even do an oval around the logo.

xoxo,

Blog signature

Leave a Reply

