Finally Finished My Capelet

Here she is in all her wrinkled glory. I swear I ironed it. I think I’m going to have to get some spray starch for this one.

Capelet copy

Here’s a pic of my bound buttonhole. I’m really happy that I forced myself to go with my original plan. I think I would’ve felt cheated otherwise.

IMG_8965
That’s it for now. I’m working on my Simplicity 1426 bralette top and the FBA has proved to be challenging for this D-cup wearing seamstress. Also, I don’t want to have buttonholes at the back so I’m trying to decide between hook and eye tape or a zipper.

I cut out one bodice and ruined my red/white gingham material because I cut the waist too narrow (I’m talking 3 inches so all the sucking in in the world wasn’t going to help that situation). The second bodice I cut out should fit much better because I’m low-carbing it for a while so my stomach will be nice and flat and I won’t feel uncomfortable. Anyway, I’ll have pics next time.

Oh and I found some great stretch gabardine for Butterick 6019. I’ve been looking for stretch bengaline because one of my favorite dresses from Stop Staring, the Billion Dollar Baby, is made from it.

Stop Staring Dress

So far no luck though, but I’m going to continue looking. In the meantime, back to my bralette and some other projects I’ll reveal later.

xoxo,

Blog signature

 

2 thoughts on “Finally Finished My Capelet

  1. Your capelet is beautiful! I love those bound button holes, they look utterly classy and just right (for want of a better phrase). I really want to make a garment that has them, I don’t mind much what kind of garment but I fancy making bound button holes. I’m not sure if that’s a good enough reason to start a sewing project, oh well…
    I hope you get lots of wear out of it. This is really nice.

    • Giselle,
      Thanks so much for your kind comment. I haven’t had a chance to wear it yet, but I’ll definitely be wearing it soon. It’s JUST starting to get warm in NY, but the evenings are still chilly.

Leave a Reply

