It Got So Cold!

Practically overnight, the weather went from pleasantly cool to just plain cold. And as always I was unprepared.  Sure I have my nice new coat, but I had nothing to cover my head. Enter Ravelry. (If you knit or crochet, do yourself a favor and head over there to sign up and get access to some of the most innovative and beautiful designs ever.)

Anyhow, Ravelry has this fantastic search function that  allows you to find projects by how much yardage you have on hand. How genius is that?  Since my coat is grey, I wanted a black hat and found one skein of Top of the Lamb wool worsted yarn in my stash.According to the label, it’s 190 yards so after doing my search and looking through all the eligible patterns, I decided on the Boho beret. I started it last night while watching television and waiting for one of my projects to render (did I ever mention that I’m a film editor? ) and in just a few hours – including ribbing which always goes super slow for me – I made this:IMG_8786 IMG_8785It’s really hard to photograph black items so, but if you look really closely, you can see the eyelet pattern.  I hope it’ll be more visible once I finish the rest of the stockinette.
IMG_8783 The rest is pretty much all stockinette in the round so I should be finished by this evening. Yay for quick knits!

Leave a Reply

